Memberships - Using Memberships

2 min. readlast update: 05.12.2026

Enrolling a Patient in a Membership

Steps

  1. Open the patient’s chart
  2. Go to Money > Memberships
  3. Click New
  4. Complete the following fields:
  • Membership: Choose the Membership Type to enroll the patient in
  • Patient: Defaults to the current patient
  • Card to Charge: Select a credit card on file or add a new card to the patient's record
  • Office : Select the practice location
  • Period: Choose the billing interval (defaults from the Membership Profile)
  • End After: Number of occurrences (defaults from the Membership Type)
  • Start Date: Enter the start date
    • Note: If the start date is today, the first payment runs immediately
  • End Date: Auto‑calculated based on Start Date, Period, and End After settings
  • Payment Amount: Enter the amount billed each period (defaults from Membership Type)

 

Modifying a Patient's Membership

Patient Memberships cannot be edited once the first payment is processed. To Modify a membership after the first payment has been processed, cancel the existing membership and enroll the patient in a new membership with the updated settings.

Changing the Payment Method on a Patient Membership

Steps

  1. Open the Patient's Chart
  2. Go to Money > Memberships
  3. Click on the Membership
  4. Select the new Card or add a new card
  5. Click

Canceling A Patient's Membership

Steps

  1. Open the Patient's Chart
  2. Go to Money > Memberships
  3. Hover over the Membership and click the  icon
  4. Enter a reason for cancellation
  5. Click Cancel Membership

Using a Membership

Patients will automatically be billed for their Membership on the selected card on the schedule indicated in the Membership configuration. 

Membership packages will be displayed in Money as an available Package. 



FAQ

Q: What happens if a membership payment fails?

A: When a Membership payment fails, a notification will be sent to all users with permissions to access Money. These notifications will persist until the payment has been reprocessed or the Membership has been cancelled.

Related Articles:
Memberships - Setup

Was this article helpful?