Enabling Inventory by Location

2 min. readlast update: 04.20.2026
  1. Settings >> Money >> Inventory.
  2. Check Inventory by location.
  3. Select a location in the Move to location dropdown.
    • This location will be enabled on all currently tracked inventory items, and all existing inventory levels will be transferred to this location.
  4. Specify any staff who should receive notifications when stock levels fall below specified levels.
    • Alerts are sent as emails to their login email address.
    • Different staff cannot be specified for different locations at this time.
  5. Click Save.

Edit Products for Tracking at a Location

  1. Go to Practice >> Products >> Product List.
  2. Click on an inventory item.
  3. In the Product Locations section, check each location that should track inventory levels for this product.
  4. Enter an Alert Quantity.
  5. Specify which location should be used for items used or sold at an Outside Facility.
    • This is important for surgical items such as implants used in surgeries at ASC or hospitals.
  6. Click Save.
  7. Repeat for all products that are tracked.

Adding Stock to Location Inventories

  1. Go to Practice >> Products >> Inventory >> Update.
  2. Select New Stock (Adding) in the Event dropdown.
  3. Filters for product or location can be set to display only certain items.
  4. In the Count field, enter the current number of items in stock.
    • Pay attention to the location specified if not using a location filter.
  5. Click Save once all counts are updated.

Transferring Stock Between Locations

This is useful if the original non-location-specific inventory included stock held at all locations.

  1. Go to Practice >> Products >> Inventory >> Update.
  2. Select Transfer Between Locations.
  3. It is recommended to select the originating location in the dropdown to make changes quickly and reduce errors.
  4. For the inventory item being transferred, specify:
    • The number of items to be transferred in the Count field.
    • The location inventory should be transferred to in the Send To field.
  5. Click Save.

 

Was this article helpful?